The Superior Express -

Primary election planning underway


January 23, 2020

As we keep an eye on the forecast and wonder if the weather will upset our travel plans, Nebraska’s primary election seems to be a long way off. But in reality it may be closer than we think. The Nuckolls County clerk’s office is already accepting early ballot requests for the May 12 primary elections. Last Monday was the first day such requests could be made.

April 24 is the postmark deadline for mailed-in voter registrations. April 27 is the last day to complete voter registration online using the Nebraska Voter Registration Portal. May 1, 6 p.m. is the deadline for voter registration at the county clerk’s office.

May 11 is the last day for early voting (in person) at the county clerk's office.

Local offices to be filled include three city council positions at Superior, Hardy and Oak and two at Nelson and Nora. Three school board positions are to be filled at Superior, Sandy Creek, Lawrence-Nelson, Deshler, Thayer Central and Davenport. All of those districts have potential voters living in Nuckolls County.

Sandra Foote and James Flores have filed for reelection to the Superior City Council. Chris Peterson has not filed. Charles Tuttle has filed for reelection to the Nelson City Council, Von Wehrman and Tammy Frahm-Thayer have not yet filed. Glenda Young, Mary Roberts and Lynda Plauk have not filed for reelection at Hardy. Neither have village board members Richard Lowery, Derick Drohman and Michael Hinz at Oak or Dave Gebers and Margo Williams at Nora.

Superior Airport Authority board members Luke Meyers and Zach Dressman have not yet filed.

Philip Brockman has filed for the Lawrence-Nelson School Board, Ethan Epley and Lance Williams have not.

For the Superior School Board incumbents Matt Sullivan, Peggy Meyer and Luke Myers have not yet filed.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 06/03/2020 12:18