The Superior Express -

History of Jewell County townships


January 20, 2022

Jewell County was named and the boundaries established by the Kansas State Legislature on Feb. 26, 1867. The government of the county was organized on July 14, 1870, when James Harvey, Kansas governor, appointed C. L. Seeley, E, T. Gandy and A. I. Davis as county commissioners, James A. Scarborough as county clerk, and Jewell City as the county seat.

In the beginning, Jewell County had only five townships, Big Timber, Buffalo, Limestone, Vicksburg and White Rock. There were 207 residents counted on the 1870 U. S. Federal Census.

Today there is a reported population of 2,932 in 25 to...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Superior Express
Nuckolls County Locomotive Gazette
Jewell County Record

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 03/15/2023 06:30