Jewell County's first school formed in 1871

Once there were 170 school districts in Jewell County

Ionia High School

It was early in the history of Jewell County, Jan. 28, 1871, that the county's first school district was formed. Citizens met at the county clerk's office in Jewell City and formed District No.1, Jewell City.

From that beginning, the county eventually made provision for some 165 school districts. The idea being students wouldn't have to go far from home to receive an education. By 1877, there were 125 districts formed. Jeri Shute and Erma Dillon's book Prairie Jewels tells the stories of some 170 different schools in Jewell County.

Some districts remained as "common" schools...


Reader Comments(0)